Country information

North Macedonia

Location: North North Macedonia is a landlocked country in Southeast Europe. It borders Kosovo and Serbia to the north, Bulgaria to the east, Greece to the south, and Albania to the west. 

Area: North Macedonia has an area of 25,713 sq km. The country is characterised by a central valley shaped by the Vardar river. Lakes Ohrid, Prespa, and Dojran are found on its south side. This region is known for its major earthquakes. The Sar Mountains and the Osogovo – Belasica mountain ranges run along the borders of the country. 

Capital: Skopje (595, 000 inhabitants as of 2020)

Local time: GMT +2

Population: 1.83 million 

Major ethnic groups: North Macedonians (64.2%), Albanians (25.2%), Turks (3.9%), Romani (2.7%), Serbs (1.8%), Bosniaks (0.8%)

Religions:  Christianity (70.7%), Islam (28.6%)

Languages: North Macedonian, Albanian

Climate: North North Macedonia experiences warm and dry summers, but cold and snowy winters. 

Currency: North Macedonian Denar

Government: Unitary parliamentary republic 

Country code: +389

Official holidays:

1st January: New Year

6-7 January: Orthodox Christmas

8th March: International Women’s Day

1st-2nd Easter Day (following the Orthodox calendar)

1st May: Labour day

24th May: St Cyrilus and St Methodius Day

2nd August: Ilinden (National Holiday)

8th September: Independence Day

Transportation:  There are two airports in north North Macedonia, one in Skopje and the other one being Ohrid Airport. There is 228km of motorways and 699km of railroads. 

Taxation: 18% VAT 

Electricity: The standard voltage is 230V and 50 Hz frequency. Sockets and plugs are standard European.

Important phone numbers: 

112 – Emergency 

192  – Police 

193 – Fire brigade 

194 – Ambulance 

Working hours: Typical working hours of shops are from 8:00 to 20:00 Monday to Friday. On Saturdays, working hours are from 8:00 till 15:00, however during the tourist season in the tourist areas working hours are usually extended till 22:00.